Question

What exactly does snapshot restore do?

With an existing snapshot selected, there is an option in its submenu “Restore Droplet”. Which droplet will be restored? No droplet has been selected, this is a selected Snapshot submenu. There might be multiple, or no droplets associated with the selected Snapshot - so what would happen in that case? Where is “Restore Droplet” defined?


Submit an answer

This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Want to learn more? Join the DigitalOcean Community!

Join our DigitalOcean community of over a million developers for free! Get help and share knowledge in Q&A, subscribe to topics of interest, and get courses and tools that will help you grow as a developer and scale your project or business.

If you click on Restore Droplet, you will be asked if you want to restore the original Droplet of which the snapshot was created to the older version that is the snapshot itself.