Question

Will I still be charged if I power off my droplet ?

  • Posted September 24, 2013

What will happened to the environment and data on the droplet when I power it off ?

Subscribe
Share

Digital Ocean Team, I wonder why, after bunch of complains, there are no any mentions anywhere that you’re charging powered off Droplets.

Moreover, you have the next text at the pricing FAQ (https://www.digitalocean.com/pricing/):

“If you use your server for fewer than 672 hours during the month, you will be billed for each hour that you used it. …”

It is provoking to think that powered off droplets aren’t going to be charged and I haven’t found the definition of term “use” for droplet anywhere. I assume I can miss it - there are vast count of “use” word in “terms of usage” document.

All mentions of Droplets charging I’ve found on your site are hushing up of this nuance.

It’s definitely not “Transparent and predictable pricing” you are promising so glaring.

When the machine is down, will it cost us?

“At this time, there is no charge for using DigitalOcean snapshots.” From this post

This comment has been deleted

This comment has been deleted


Submit an answer
You can type!ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

When you power off your droplet it is simply powered off. Your disk space and data is still there and is preserved. <br> <br>Keep in mind that you are still billed for droplets that are powered off becase your diskspace, CPU, RAM, and IP address are all reserved while it is powered off. If you want to save a Droplet for future use take a snapshot of it and then destroy it. You’ll be able to create a new Droplet from the snapshot image anytime to bring it back online. <br>Gravatar <br>Answered by Kamal Nasser

Appears that Kamal is right. If you take a “snapshot” (requires powering if off first) then “destroy” the image, even though the destroy button doesn’t explicitly mention it (feature request: update the destroy button text to mention snapshots are not destroyed), the snapshot remains.
<br> <br>So next you go to “create droplet”, select the same data center, then under “select images” you select the (oddly titled) My Images tab (suggestion/feature request: rename to “my snapshots” for consistency) then create it. It seems to reset the root password [huh wuh?] but besides that, you have the original box back. You can even create multiple clones of the original box whoa!

First Of All, Awesome Guys. DO Rocks.

So, If the Users are made to pay for Instances which are not Used. Then why do we have to mention it as Hourly or Cloud or Pay for what you Use ?

I wonder, It’s a Flat Rate Like VPS Hosting then ! Whats the Fun in Cloud Only Expansion ? Partial Cloud ;) You can make it default to 10 $ / Month right ? I think this is misguiding the New & Dumb Users Like Me.

Anyway, I like Digital Ocean in my 5 hours of Interaction with DO Systems because of its simplicity. And I already said Bye to AWS. But, It would be honest if this is mentioned in the Website Homepage. “Partial Cloud”

if i know this sooner i can save at least 200 eur…

Yes, you will be charged. The reason is that your storage and all other resources are reserved for your droplet. However, if you make a backup and delete the droplet, you will not be charged… This question was already asked by the way.

Hello there,

If you have any snapshots under your account this will generate an invoice since snapshots are charged at $0.05 GB per month for Droplets and $0.05 GiB per month for volumes. There is a minimum charge of $0.01, which may apply for very small snapshots or snapshots that exist only for a short time. Pricing is based on the size of the snapshot.

https://docs.digitalocean.com/products/images/snapshots/

Do you have any droplets that are simply powered off?

When you power off your droplet it is simply powered off. Your disk space and data are still there and are preserved.

Keep in mind that you are still billed for droplets that are powered off because your disk space, CPU, RAM, and IP address are all reserved while it is powered off. If you want to save a Droplet for future use take a snapshot of it and then destroy it. You’ll be able to create a new Droplet from the snapshot image anytime to bring it back online.

Hope that this helps!

Hello,

When you power off your droplet it is simply powered off. Your disk space and data is still there and is preserved.

Keep in mind that you are still billed for droplets that are powered off becase your diskspace, CPU, RAM, and IP address are all reserved while it is powered off. If you want to save a Droplet for future use take a snapshot of it and then destroy it. You’ll be able to create a new Droplet from the snapshot image anytime to bring it back online.

Hope that this helps! Regards, Alex

I found out about this today and I am, let’s say not amused. I get billed 60$ per month even though I’m only using 3 out of my 12 droplets. What is more is that the Dashboard keeps telling me that the estimated monthly costs are 4.98.

I highly appreciate the service that DO does and the platform runs well and smooth but the way this topic is handled leaves me with a bad gut feeling.

As far as active resources like RAM and CPU go a turned off droplet and a snapshot are the same. So why one costs some cents per month and one costs the full 5$ must be one of the big mysteries of life left to answer…

So when a droplet is powered off what exactly is happening (if all the data and files are accessible)?

So you don’t pay for snapshots?