Question

Will my data be purged if I stop paying?

Posted April 12, 2018 1.3k views
Billing

I am interested in hosting my website with DigitalOcean, but have a question first; If I need to stop paying for a couple months, will I lose my data, and if so, is there a way to save it?

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

×
1 answer

Yes. Accounts with unpaid balances are deleted after a grace period to allow the user to resolve the billing issue.

If you wish to save your data your best option is to create a snapshot of your droplet and then delete the droplet from your account. The storage of your snapshot will still be charged at a rate of $0.05 per GB per month

Submit an Answer