Question

How to reset droplet without destroying it.

  • Posted July 15, 2020
  • API

As I test with the possibilities of service deployment options sometime I need to completely reset the droplet for which the rebuild option doesn’t help sometime. I just want to reset everything in droplet setting back to default as the first time it is created.

Is there a possible way??

Subscribe
Share

Submit an answer
You can type!ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Hello, @OkenKhuman

As per’s @mariobrocato using the snapshot’s option will give you the option to revert the droplet to it’s original state before you’ve made any custom changes. Snapshots are on-demand disk images of DigitalOcean Droplets and volumes saved to your account. Depending on the services running on the Droplet, you may want to power off the Droplet before taking a snapshot in order to ensure all applications have written out their data to disk.

In order to do that you can take a snapshot of your droplet before you go and do configuration changes. You can check our tutorial on how to create snapshots of droplets:

https://www.digitalocean.com/docs/images/snapshots/how-to/snapshot-droplets/

Hope that helps!

Regards, Alex

the easiest way is once created take a snapshot of it at that point and then when you need to go back to original state just restore it.