Question

When destroying a droplet is all information erased? If not what is recommended procedure.

I have a droplet with confidential data and want to ensure all data can’t be accessed once droplet is destroyed.


Submit an answer

This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

If you destroy your droplet all data is erased.

However, you also want to make sure that you have no snapshots, or backups of the droplets under the images tab in your control panel as the droplet can be recreated from a snapshot. If you have those delete them as well.

Lastly, if you used Block Storage and attached a volume to your droplet you will again need to delete that separately as well as any associated images/snapshots that you may have taken.

Want to learn more? Join the DigitalOcean Community!

Join our DigitalOcean community of over a million developers for free! Get help and share knowledge in Q&A, subscribe to topics of interest, and get courses and tools that will help you grow as a developer and scale your project or business.