Question

When cancel subscription, how the bill will be prorated hourly?

I have a question about the $5 Space plan; I would like to know exactly how I will be charged if I cancel my subscription? As mentioned on Spaces overview:

If you cancel your subscription by destroying all your Spaces, your bill will be prorated hourly.

Can someone explain to me exactly how the bill will be prorated hourly? Any example? Pls. Thanks.


Submit an answer

This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Hello there,

As already mentioned DigitalOcean billing cycles are monthly. Your account balance accrues over the course of the calendar month based on the cost of the resources you use. We are also required by law to apply taxes for certain countries.

On the first day of each month, we invoice and charge your account’s primary payment method for the previous month’s usage.

You can also check our Docs for Billing and Invoices:

https://docs.digitalocean.com/products/billing/

https://docs.digitalocean.com/products/billing/invoices/

Regards

Hi @sixdaystudio,

DigitalOcean bill their products hourly, not only spaces but everything. Additionally, it has bandwidth costs and each product has a set of bandwidth it comes free and then it gets billed as well.

Regarding Spaces, this just means that you’ll be billed that way, hourly and in case you go over the bandwidth provided for you plan, billed for that. Your bill accumulates over the course of the month, if you decide to cancel your Spaces subscription on let’s say 15th of the month, you’ll pay for what you’ve used up until now.