Question

Destroy a droplet and keep the backups

If we not tick the “Scrub Data” option while destroying a droplet what will happen? Will it delete the associated backups? or will it keep the backups?


Submit an answer

This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Want to learn more? Join the DigitalOcean Community!

Join our DigitalOcean community of over a million developers for free! Get help and share knowledge in Q&A, subscribe to topics of interest, and get courses and tools that will help you grow as a developer and scale your project or business.

Where is link? for Recently Destroyed Droplets

If you destroy a droplet, the backups associated with it will also be destroyed. If you want to keep a copy of the droplet after you destroy it, you must take a snapshot before doing so.

When a long running droplet is destroyed, a temporary snapshot that lasts 48 hours is created: