Question

If I remove a database cluster which was a parent of another database cluster, will it affect a "child" database cluster?

If I remove a database cluster which (its backup [Backups -> More -> Restore]) was a parent of another database cluster, will it affect a “child” (after “Restore”) database cluster?

I’m 99,9% sure that those two database clusters are fully separated, but - when I enter “Insights” of a “child” db cluster I’m forwarded to a “parent” database cluster. So it indicates some connection between these two clusters, even if it shouldn’t exist.

Please, make me sure that I can easily remove a “parent” cluster database. Thank you.


Submit an answer

This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Accepted Answer

Hi there Motash!

Thanks for the question. Clusters created from another cluster (forks and clusters resulting from a restore-from-backup) are created as unique clusters. Deleting the parent in these cases will not affect the child clusters.

The only exception is read-only nodes, which receive all their data from the parent cluster. Deleting a cluster with a read-only node will destroy both the parent cluster and the dependent read-only node(s).

The indication you are seeing in insights is a bug! We are in the process of resolving this issue!

Thanks!